So having lived in China awhile, I (Curt) thought I would do a quick post with my 5 favorite things about life there.  Then, my next post will be 5 of my least favorite things in China.  I'm going with positives first!  And then we'll see if Michelle will post her top 5's as well!

#5 Chinglish!  Over and over again I get good laughs from the English on signs, clothes, and menus.  At one restaurant, you could get "A bowel of stupid noodles."  Yum!  A sign i saw:"Smiling Beijing Police Happy Help You".  And my personal favorite was PG-13 rated.  At a clothing store once, all the staff were wearing matching pink t-shirts that said "This orgy is just getting started."  Mercy!  I laughingly asked them if they knew what it meant, and of course they did not.  They were pretty embarrassed when I explained!


Picture
Oh ok, good! I won't worry if there is a fire!
#4  Knock off stuff.  Somehow, brand new Hollywood movies appear on the streets of China as DVD's, within days of their release in the States.  The quality isn't always the best (often someone had brought a camcorder into a theater, so you may see a head get up to go get popcorn), but you can buy the DVD for $1.50.  I don't bring those back to the States though, as I am certain those are illegal here.  They might be illegal in China as well, but it is hardly enforced.  Knockoff clothes are great too!  I got a great "North Face" fleece for $12!  All the zippers broke within a year or two, and it was not a true "Windstopper" like it said, but at least I have the brand name (gotta keep my image up!).  And I've had that fleece for years now.

#3  The Chinese Language.  I really like it.  It has 4 tones, and so sometimes it's like singing.  And the history of the Chinese language is amazing.  Many of the characters (picture symbols they use, i.e., 我,你,家)have stories behind them.  It's hard to study, but really fun to understand.  Also, Chinese has some interesting sayings, usually 4 characters, that are fun to learn.  For example, "playing the harp for a cow,对牛弹琴“,means to fall on deaf ears."  Or, "if you ride a tiger, it's tough to get down, 骑虎难下” means you've put yourself in an awkward situation, like you're stuck on a tiger and stuck in the situation, and it's tough to get out.  Good stuff!

#2  Old People.  Chinese old people are just great.  In general, they are some of the happiest people I've ever seen.  I love seeing Chinese old people out in the parks early in the morning, chatting it up, learning new dances, practicing kung fu, or playing ping-pong.  I find them to be quite active, social, and in good shape!  Usually they love to chat with me, the foreigner, and are very welcoming.  One time, I was out jogging on a track, and an older guy was at the side of the track, standing on his head chanting old Chinese opera songs.  Impressive!
Picture
#1  The Food!  Chinese food is great.  I love eating dumplings and hot pot the best.  Hot pot is where they put a big boiling pot of broth on your table, and then you cook whatever meat and vegetables you want in it, kind of like fondue.  I love cooking up lamb meat, potatoes, lotus root, and tofu in a spicy hot pot, then dipping it in sesame sauce.  Chinese food in the States, especially in the midwest, just doesn't compare.  There are some foods in China that I still won't touch, like the stinky tofu they cook on the streets.  Yes, stinky tofu is the name, and it reeks horribly.  But many locals there love it.  I'm a pansy and refuse to try it.  Also, for the record, I find PF Changs to be a joke now, mainly cuz I know I can get better, more authentic Chinese food in China for 1/10th of the price!
Picture
Hot pot- spicy on the left! This often causes me to feel bad the next morning, but it's worth it!
Picture
a row of stinky tofu and other interesting street food. I stay away from that stuff!
Chase
7/26/2011 12:45:06 pm

I tried stinky tofu once and it was pretty good. The only problem was that there were 2 or 3 pieces in the bowl that i guess didn't cook right and tasted like the smell.
Worth looking into.

Reply
1/27/2012 11:21:25 pm

nice post

Reply
1/28/2012 10:58:30 am

Nice one info, thanks

Reply
3/22/2012 08:20:33 am

Great info, thx

Reply
3/23/2012 04:39:52 am

nice post

Reply
5/14/2012 01:04:54 am

Nice one info, thanks

Reply
7/12/2012 03:26:33 pm

Thanks for data

Reply
9/29/2012 01:42:03 pm

you could be accurate on those post

Reply



Leave a Reply.